Banner Day | News, Sports, Jobs


Southwestern’s Trenton Shutters shows his winning form in the Men’s Division 2 Final –––800 Meters. Photo of PJ by Tim Frank

WEST SENECA – Trenton Shutters had a pretty good run this spring.


That was especially true Friday during the Section VI Athletics State Qualifier at West Seneca West High School.

Competing in the boys’ Division 2 800-meter final, the Southwestern senior posted a winning time of 1:55:09 to earn a trip next week to Cicero-North Syracuse High School in the goal to win a state crown. Shutters edged East Aurora’s Braden Tent (1:57.86) and Randolph’s Roan Kelly (1:59.62).

Shutters wasn’t the only headliner in the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association area.

Clymer/Sherman/Panama’s Jenna Fisher leads the way in the girls’ Division 2 200-meter preliminaries Friday during the Section VI Athletics State Qualifier at West Seneca West High School. Fisher also won his preliminary 100 meters and will race the finals of both races today. Photo of PJ by Tim Frank

Allegany-Limestone’s Angelina Napoleon continued her dominance by winning the Division 2 women’s 800 meters (2:08.02) and 3,000 meters (10:11.73) to earn her ticket to New York Central next weekend ; and teammate Jacob Brink captured the Division 2 boys 3,200 yards (9:35.82).

Abby Brunenavs of Maple Grove in the Division 2 women’s 800 meters (2:19.64); Corinne Inkley of Randolph in the Division 2 girls’ pole vault (9-9); and Falconer/Cassadaga Valley’s Devin Austin in the boys’ Division 2 long jump (21-7).

The 800 meters, 3,000 meters and 3,200 meters were the only track finals yesterday. The other track events were preliminaries. Meanwhile, all events contested on Friday were finals. The pentathlon has completed three events and will have two more today. Start of the competition at noon.




3000m: Angelina Napoleon (Allegany-Limestone), Emilia O’Leary (East Aurora), Kailyn Houghton (East Aurora), Olivia Harmony (West Valley), Lilianna Peters (Allegany-Limestone), Lily Wangelin (East Aurora), Hailey Kliszak (Lake Shore), Gracyn Rowland (Randolph). T-10:11.73.

800m: Angelina Napoleon (Allegany-Limestone), Abby Brunenavs (Maple Grove), Megan McLaughlin (East Aurora), Nicole Kuehner (Iroquois), Hope Owens (East Aurora), Catalena Ersing (Newfane), Solki Martin-Lacayo (Clymer / Sherman/Panama), Lauren Wagner (Akron). T—2:08.02.

Triple Jump: Melanie Meyers (Newfane), Samantha Bellis (Akron), Nadia White (Royalton-Hartland), Linnea Neureuther (Springville), Ella Ekstrom (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley), Emma Foley (Maple Grove), Julia LeBaron (Fredonia) , Brianna Michalak (Newfane), Abby Roth (Fredonia), Angelina Sutton (Olmsted). D—35-11.25.

Shot put: Marinna Heichberger (Springville), Nyla Wilson-Epps (Tapestry), Kartina Chandler (Cheektowaga), Deja Ferguson (Tapestry), Tarryn Herman (Franklinville/Ellicottville), Jillian Rea (Salamanca), Jazz-Mayne Truner (Cheektowaga ) , Fall Lynn (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley). D-35-1.

Pole vault: Kate Hillyard (East Aurora), Corinne Inkley (Randolph), Madison Brege (Akron) and Eve Adams (Randolph) tie, Bailey Nocero (Maple Grove), Emerson Polkowski (Akron) and Shelby erber (Newfane), Marisa Schultz (Wilson). H-10-1.



800m: Trenton Shutters (Southwestern), Braden Tent (East Aurora), Roan Kelly (Randolph), Elias Quintero (Chautauqua Lake), Alex Reynolds (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley), Evan Castlevetere (Irorquois), Getty Testa (Iroquois, Owen White (Clymer/Sherman/Panama), Donavin Brown (Southwest), Matt Strasser (Alden).T — 2:05.68.

3200m: Jacob Brink (Allegany-Limestone), Evan Owens (East Aurora), Rayn Zaff (East Aurora), Joe Krenzer (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley), Ethan Luce (Southwestern), Lukas Baer (Maple Grove), Jay Heideman (Royalton) -Hartland), Chase Allard (Maryvale), Cody Kent (Frewsburg), Will Chubb (Akron). T-9:35.82.

Long Jump: CJ Krzanowicz (Cheektowaga), Devin Austin (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley), Ethan Ranalli (East Aurora), Cincere Lowe (Albion), Jase Smith (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley), David Speagle (Chautauqua Lake), Cole Otto (Chautauqua Lake). D — 22-8.25.

Records: Ryan Oleksy (Holland), Robert Rohde (Maryvale), Kevin Edwards-Hardy (Allegany-Limestone), Dontae Hoose (Southwestern), Josh Lea (Allegany-Limestone), Maverick Adams (Randolph), Simon Lingle (Newfane), Ahren Faller (Allegany-Limestone), David Marshall (Maple Grove). D-136-6.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox


Comments are closed.